Related Pages
Photo Albums

Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA) Participants


What is RYLA?

The Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA) is a week-long residential personal development program for young people aged 18 to 25, which focuses on yourself, leadership and community. RYLA aims to:


RYLA is a premier youth leadership development program designed to promote proactivity, personal and professional development of Australian youth who have already been identified with exceptional leadership potential.
RYLA recruits only the highest calibre young people and offers this group the chance to access some of Australia's most influential and motivational speakers and experts in a variety of fields. 
RYLA is hosted by Rotary, a reputable not for profit organisation whose mission is to provide humanitarian service, encourage high ethical standards in all vocations and build goodwill and peace in the world. 
One of Rotary International's key commitments is to helping young people prepare for the future and to build the next generation of leaders.


RYLA emphasizes leadership, citizenship, and personal growth, and aims to:


  • Demonstrate Rotary's respect and concern for youth
  • Provide an effective training experience for selected youth and potential leaders
  • Encourage leadership of youth by youth
  • Recognize publicly young people who are rendering service to their communities 

"RYLA was such an eye opening experience. The friends gained and lessons learnt will stay with me forever"
"Within 24 hours, I knew I was in for a fantastic week"


Rotary Youth Leadership Awards Participants

Sponsored by the Rotary Club of Drummoyne

Please note:

This list of participants is not complete.
We invite former Rylarians and all others to come forward with relevant information.


1969 - 1970  Ronald A. Pelley
1971 - 1972 Phillip Newman and David Hoare
1972 - 1973 Patricia Rushton and Jonathon Murphy
1973 - 1974 Michael Dennis
1974 - 1975 Helen Bryan and Alex Lakajev
1975 - 1976 Two Rylarians - names are not yet identified
1976 - 1977 John Buchanan
1977 - 1978 Maryanne Tevardi and Peter Kaye
1978 - 1979 Neil Lumsden and Erica Jankovitch
1979 - 1980 Marianne Tevardi
1991 - 1992 Fiona Turnbull
1992 - 1993  Andrew Nichols
2004 - 2005 Jacqui Conners
2006 - 2007 Nicola Varnier
2008 - 2009 Rachel Wilkins
2012 - 2013 Katherine Hristoforidis
2015 - 2016 Taylah Plataniotis